Tuesday, December 1, 2009

JUSTSAP’s 4th Annual ‘Space Exploration Pioneer Award’ by Eileen Borgeson honors Michael Duke in Hawaii

On November 9th at JUSTSAP’s (Japan – U.S. Science, Technology & Space Applications Programs) 19th annual space symposium, Michael Duke (chief geologist for the Apollo Lunar Mission) was honored for his over 5 decades in pioneering space exploration, his contributions to JUSTSAP’s efforts, and especially for implementing space education programs.

After an introduction honoring Michael Duke by Jim Crisafulli, Director, Office of Aerospace Development State of Hawaii, and Dr. Frank Schowengerdt (U.S. Vice-Chairman – JUSTSAP), Eileen Borgeson and I made the virtual presentation to Michael who was unable to attend the event.

Previous recipients of the JUSTSAP ‘Space Exploration Pioneer Award’ were: The Honorable George R. Ariyoshi (former Governor of Hawaii) in recognition of “his sustained and distinguished contributions promoting international collaboration in space exploration”, and Takaji Kuroda, also an accomplished artist in Japan, for “his sixty year involvement with Japan’s space program.”

Each year Eileen and I have offered a different art sculpture for JUSTSAP’s awards. In 2007 George Ariyoshi received a sculpture entitled ‘Pele’s Gift’, which was a bronzed resin organic flame sculpture offering a cast crystal earth with the Hawaii Islands sandblasted into the Pacific. IN 2008, Takaji Kuroda received a frosted blue acrylic sculpture (cast by R. S. Owens – maker of the Oscars, Emmys and Eileen’s original classic Promax Muse award.) The award was mounted on a metal chromed/holographic base which included a 3-D image projecting off the earth.

In 2006, JUSTSAP itself was honored with the first ‘Space Exploration Pioneer Award’ by E Art Gallery and Mark McGuffie, presenting for the Hawaii Island Economic Development Board. The award was the “Orbital Muse’, the featured sculpture on top of the Dennis Tito Award (for space explorers who pay $20 million+ for 6 months of astronaut training and a weeks stay at the International Space Station). Another award, a sub-surface etched crystal ‘Space Ambassador Award’ was given to Anousheh Ansari by X Prize’s Peter Diamandis and Alan Hale (Hale-Bobb Comet founder) at the X Prize Cup in New Mexico.

This year’s JUSTSAP ‘Space Exploration Pioneer Award’ was a Hot Glass Sculpted Rocket Eileen designed and collaborated to create it with amazing hot glass artist/friend Daniel Moe here on the Big Island. He’s one of the best to come out of the Pilchuck School in Washington (Dale Chilhuly’s baby.) Assisting Daniel was Summer Campbell.

Our good friend and now ‘family’, Kyle Brown, attended the award presentation with us. Kyle’s a New Yorker we refer to as ‘street wise with heart’. In a discussion about the future of JUSTSAP, Kyle offered a suggestion of approaching the new minds of this generation with educational, science and art projects starting with the students of Hawaii. The suggestion was well received and discussed at some length. Kyle has been lending his technical expertise to the local school systems for some time now and was chief technologist for the Imiloa Center in Hilo when it was first launched. He is now in discussions with RocketPlane of Oklahoma to approach the Hawaii school system with some of these concepts.

As usual, we all stayed at our favorite location on the Kona side, Gary Stice's "Point House" on Kealakekua Bay...a perfect Space to unwind from an inspiring Space Event.

The theme of JUSTSAP’S 2009 symposium was “Asia-Pacific Strategies and Projects for the New Space Age” held at the Fairmont Orchid Resort on the Kohala Coast. Notable speakers included: Dr. Osamu Odawara (Japan Vice-Chairman – JUSTSAP), Stephen Day (Chairman – JUSTSAP), Douglas Craig (Strategic Analysis Manager – ESMD/Directorate Integration Office NASA Headquarters), Charles Miller (Senior Advisor for Commercial Space Innovative Partnerships Programs – NASA Headquarters), Susumu Yoshitomid (Special Counselor, Japan Space Forum), Hiroshi Shimoji (Deputy Director General, Dept. Planning, Okinawa Prefecture), Dr. Galina Xanthopoulou (Professor, Institute for Materials Science, NCSR “Demokritos”), John Mankins (President – ARTEMIS Innovation Management Solutions), Dr. Daniel Rasky (Director, Space Portal – NASA Ames Research Center), Christopher Pestak (Manager, NASA Programs – Battelle Memorial Institute), Robert Wegeng (Chief Engineer – Pacific Northwest National Laboratory), and Jerry Comell (Site Executive, State of Hawaii, The Boeing Company)

No comments:

Post a Comment